“Campfire Cupcakes”: vanilla cupcakes with a toasted graham cracker base, marshmallow cream filling, and milk chocolate frosting

Why I  chose this recipe:

I have a confession: my  friends are domestic goddesses’.  They’ve perfected the art of pleasing men with cupcakes, cookies, and delicious homeade baked goods.

Me? Not so much.

There are many ways I show those around me I care, but quite frankly, my baking skills lack about 75 percent of the time. The recipes on this blog serve to be just a few successes of many failed attempts. My oven and I have a “love-hate” relationship. But nonetheless, when your friend’s set the bar incredibly high, the word will spread.

…..and it did. I’m guilty by association.

Before long, I had my own personal request for cupcakes. I debated making a run to Shop n Save, and pawning off some store bought goodies…..but this one was much smarter than my store bought cop-outs. Plus, I needed a new blog post 🙂

One of my favorite elements of Fall, are campfires. Nothing says peace quite like circling a fire pit on a cold night, chatting with friends. With this recipe, I’ve combined all the pieces of a s’more from several digital recipes, courtesy of the Food Network, Sweet Pea’s Kitchen blog, and allrecipes.com. A graham cracker crust, vanilla cupcake, marshmallow creme filling, and milk chocolate frosting complete the campfire experience, all in one cupcake!

 

Cupcake:

  • 2 2/3 cups sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/3 cups cake flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine salt

Graham cracker crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups finely ground graham cracker crumbs

  • 1/3 cup white sugar

  • 6 tablespoons butter, melted

Marshmallow filling:

  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 ½ cups confectioners’ sugar
  • ¾ cup Marshmallow Fluff
  • 1 ½ tablespoon heavy cream

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend sugar and butter until creamy.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend sugar and butter until creamy.

Beat eggs one at a time, and then continue to beat the mixture, adding milk, water, and vanilla.

Beat eggs one at a time, and then continue to beat the mixture, adding milk, water, and vanilla.

In three additions, beat a mixture of the flour, baking powder, and salt into the wet ingredients.

In three additions, beat a mixture of the flour, baking powder, and salt into the wet ingredients.

To create a graham cracker curst, combine the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar. Press a tablespoon into each cupcake liner base.

To create a graham cracker curst, combine the graham cracker crumbs, melted butter, and sugar. Press a tablespoon into each cupcake liner base.

Top the graham cracker crust with the cupcake mixture, and bake for 21 minutes.

Top the graham cracker crust with the cupcake mixture, and bake for 21 minutes.

To create the marshmallow creme filling, beat butter, powdered sugar, marshmallow fluff, and heavy creme until well combined.

To create the marshmallow creme filling, beat butter, powdered sugar, marshmallow fluff, and heavy creme until well combined.

Using a melon scooper, create hole in each cake, and pipe the marshmallow filling into each space.

Using a melon scooper, create hole in each cake, and pipe the marshmallow filling into each space.

Top with milk chocolate frosting ( I purchase Hershey's....had to stay true to the original S'more!), and topping of your choice!

Top with milk chocolate frosting ( I purchase Hershey’s….had to stay true to the original S’more!), and topping of your choice!

How It Tasted:

This recipe was incredibly scrumptious. Of all the recipes I’ve crafted throughout my blog posts, I must say, this one ranks supreme. These cupcakes were a delectable combination of flavors, and tasty well after the date in which they were prepared. However, it was a bit too sweet. If I was to make this recipe again, I’d use a bit less sugar in the cupcake recipe.

 

I don’t know if I’ve reached the “domestic goddess” rank of my friends, but it’s definitely an improvement from recipes past!

Leave a Reply

