Chocolate Chip Cookies Two Ways: Classic and in a Cup

Why I chose this recipe:

Why not? That’s the real question here. Chocolate chip cookies are a classic, homemade staple in the dessert world.  In fact, this is a treat that is often times more than just a dessert- it’s a memory. Who can forget the warm cookies Grandma used to make after school, or the ooey gooey chocolate chip masterpiece waiting for you when you came home from a long afternoon sledding in the snow? All too often, we associate special recipes with memorable thoughts and people. Everything about the classic chocolate chip cookie says “comfort.”

However, I don’t always have time to whip my baking tools out and make a fresh batch in the oven. And let’s face it……chips ahoy just doesn’t satisfy the craving.

Thus,  in addition to the tradional cookie, I’ve also re-created a chocolate chip cookie microwave recipe, using a typical coffee mug. Whether you’ve got the afternoon to kill, or you’re in a time crunch……these chocolate chip cookie recipes are the answer! Both are courtesy of http://www.allrecipes.com

 

What You’ll Need:

Traditional Chocolate Chip Cookies:

  • 1 cup butter, softened

  • 1 cup white sugar

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar

  • 2 eggs

  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

  • 2 teaspoons hot water

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Then, cream the butter, sugar, and brown sugar until the mixture is smooth. One at a time, beat the eggs into the mixture. Then, add vanilla. Dissolve the baking soda in hot water, and add this to the mixture along with the salt. Finally, mix in the flour and chocolate chips!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Then, cream the butter, sugar, and brown sugar until the mixture is smooth. One at a time, beat the eggs into the mixture. Then, add vanilla. Dissolve the baking soda in hot water, and add this to the mixture along with the salt. Finally, mix in the flour and chocolate chips!

 

 

Place spoonfuls evenly on a non-stick baking sheet. Bake for ten minutes.

Place spoonfuls evenly on a non-stick baking sheet. Bake for ten minutes.

They're best when eaten right out of the oven :)

They’re best when eaten right out of the oven 🙂

Chocolate Chip Cookies in a Cup:

– one tablespoon of butter

-1 1/2 teaspoons of sugar

-one teaspoon brown sugar

-one drop of vanilla

-one egg yolk

-2 tablespoons all purpose flower

-pinch of salt

-pinch of baking powder

-chocolate chips to taste

 

Melt butter in microwave, in the cup of your choice. I used a mug!

Melt butter in microwave, in the cup of your choice. I used a mug!

Mix sugar and brown sugar into mixture.

Mix sugar and brown sugar into mixture.

Add flour, baking soda, salt, and chocolate chips. I used 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips because.....I really, really like my chocolate....

Add flour, baking soda, salt, and chocolate chips. I used 1/2 a cup of chocolate chips because…..I really, really like my chocolate….

Microwave for 40 seconds, and you have a quick treat!

Microwave for 40 seconds, and you have a quick treat!

How it tasted:

I must say, I was slightly disappointed in both recipes. Perhaps this is largely in part due to the MANY cookies I have had in my 18 years (and there have been many….trust me. I have a hard time saying no.) The traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe took on a muffin-like texture. While my friends did gobble them up, I personally prefer chewier, gooey cookies. As far as the “cookie in a cup” recipe is concerned, I was also rather impartial to the results. It was edible, but had a somewhat gummy texture to the final product. It’s great if you’re in a hurry and looking for a sweet treat, however, I see it as more of a “last resort.”

Leave a Reply

