Brown Sugar Cupcakes w/ Caramel Frosting and Creme Brulee Filling

Why I chose this recipe:

I’m a HUGE “Cupcake Wars” fan. I love watching the competitive baking atmosphere. Lame, I know. But also very, very true. And honesty is the best policy, right? 😉

So needless to say, after a “Cupcake Wars” marathon on television, I was more than inspired to try one of the competitors recipes, all of which are available online for those who dare to attempt. My go-to dessert when I’m out at a restaurant, has always been custard based specialities. From flan, to creme brulee, I absolutely adore the creamy texture of a custard dish. Thus, I chose to recreate the “Brown Sugar Creme Brûlée” cupcakes from a recent “Cupcake Wars” recipe.

What you’ll need:

Cupcakes:
10 ounces all-purpose flour
8 ounces brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
8 ounces sour cream
5 ounces eggs
3 1/2 ounces vegetable oil
3 1/2 ounces prepared vanilla pudding
2 ounces buttermilk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Creme Brulee Filling:
2 ounces granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
4 large egg yolks
1 1/2 cups heavy cream

Caramel Frosting:
8 ounces butter, at room temperature
4 ounces cream cheese, at room temperature
1 pound 4 ounces powdered sugar
2 3/4 ounces dulce de leche caramel
2 1/2 ounces evaporated milk
1/4 ounce vanilla extract

 

 

How it tasted:

There is only one word for the taste this cupcake left in my mouth.

Amazing.

I was appalled by the success this recipe brought. It was kind of like a good hair day….surprising and unexpected. And, as we women do on the rare days their hair falls perfectly in place, I plan to take 100 percent credit for the awesome-ness that has occurred. So here I say it: I have finally crafted a cupcake I have absolutely NO complaints about.

I was hesitant about the batter as I was making it. In fact, I actually added a bit of corn starch to thicken it towards the end. It appeared soupy, and gloppy. Nothing like what I was used to seeing. As I placed the batter in the oven, I had all but given up. “At least I tried….” I sighed to my friends, who watched a chick flick in the other room.

Yet, when these cupcakes were finished, I realized this liquid texture was all a part of the big picture. The cake was spongey. It absorbed the filling flawlessly, and stayed perpetually moist. I substituted dulce de leche for caramel sauce (an attempt to cook on a budget) and the frosting was sweet and delicious. This recipe truly captured the creme brulee taste, and I am more than eager to recreate it in the future.

Leave a Reply

