Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

Why I chose this recipe:

For my final blog post as a part of this honors project, I wanted to try something new, something fresh. I found myself with a strong urge to create a cupcake that…..well, was more than a cupcake. After all, my experience as a part of my high school’s journalism program, is far more than just journalism. It’s been filled with heart, determination, and life lessons. A few words simply don’t encompass it. It’s complex. I yearned to find a cupcake that was equally as unique as my experience on publications staff.

In my search, I came across a well known bakers website/blog….”Annie Bakes.” This woman has created cookbooks galore, and is the epitome of all things baking. Her chocolate chip cookie dough cupcake was a fusion of all things intriguing, and I couldn’t resist giving them a try. A quick trip to the store for condensed milk, and the rest of the recipe ingredients were already present in my cabinet 🙂 Surprising, considering the multiple elements of the cupcake, yet, something I much appreciated.

What you’ll need:

For the cupcakes:
3 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
1½ cups light brown sugar, packed
4 large eggs
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
1 cup milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup chocolate chips (semisweet or bittersweet)

For the filling:
4 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
6 tbsp. light brown sugar, packed
1 cup plus 2 tbsp. all-purpose flour
7 oz. sweetened condensed milk
½ tsp. vanilla extract
¼ cup mini semisweet chocolate chips

For the frosting: 
2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temperature
½ cup light brown sugar, packed
2 1/3 cups confectioners’ sugar
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
½ tsp. salt
2 tbsp. milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract

How it tasted:

Every element of this creation fused so wonderfully, that I’d make this recipe again in a heart beat. The cake, cookie dough filling, and cookie dough icing appeared as though it would be rather overpowering at first. I must say, I was a little wary when beginning this recipe. However, every single element was well worth it. I devoured every bite, and highly recommend Annie’s recipe.

Leave a Reply

