Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes w/ Chocolate Ganache and Marscapone Coffee Cream

Why I chose this recipe:

I spent about a week in New York City this summer, training with the Radio City Rockettes at their summer intensive in Radio City Musical Hall. Each day alway began the same: walking several blocks down to Broadway, to reach my destination and begin classes. I’m so intrigued by the atmosphere of that city; the smells, the sights, the people. I LOVE it there. Which is precisely why I chose to walk to nearly every location I traveled to.

But, in all my awe, I seemed to have missed a crucial foodie destination. Imagine my disappointment when I realized that I had, in fact, been around the corner from the world famous Magnolia’s Cupcakery…..every…..single…..day…..

And that’s where I came across the desire to craft this recipe 🙂 Having wished I’d sampled their desserts when I had the opportunity, it only seemed fit that I attempt it at home. Considering I’ve been cheating on my frosting recipes lately, I figured it was about time I started to play with a few….homeade…..frosting recipes, as well. Hence, the Chocolate Ganache and Marscapone Coffee Cream components. Both recipes stem from some of my favorite stars on the Food Network: Ina Garten (Chocolate Ganache) and Giada De Laurentis (Marscapone Coffee Cream)

What you’ll need:

Cupcakes:
1 1/2 cups self-rising flour
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs, at room temperature
1 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Chocolate Ganache:

8 ounces good semisweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup heavy cream

Marscapone Coffee Cream:

3/4 cup mascarpone cheese, at room temperature
1 cup whipping cream
1/2 cup confectioners’ sugar
1/2 cup coffee liqueur

 

 

 

How it tasted:

Why….. why….why  did I not stop at Magnolia’s while in NYC?!?! I couldn’t help but moan a complaint after creating these cupcakes. If they were this delicious at home, I can’t even begin to imagine how delectable these cupcakes would be at the store. The cake was light, fluffly, sweet (but not too sweet) and the perfect canvas for any cupcake creation. It was tasty, but not overpowering.

The chocolate ganache was no innovative creation; nothing you and I haven’t seen before. But I must say, it was simple and satisfying when paired on the vanilla cupcake. I sent a batch of these back to Mizzou with friends, before they departed from Winter Break. Before I knew it, I had a received a picture of an empty container, and some very, very full engineers. I’m not exactly a shining influence in avoiding the “Mizzou 22”, but it was nice to know the recipe was received well.

Leave a Reply

